A Multi-Layered Approach To DWI Defense

Facing criminal charges of driving under the influence (DUI) can be frightening, particularly given the severe penalties associated with a conviction. Driving under the influence in Illinois, which is also commonly referred to in other jurisdictions as driving while intoxicated (DWI), can result in significant penalties, including:

  • Up to one year in the county jail
  • Fine of up to $2,500, plus court costs
  • Mandatory community service and a mandatory minimum fine of $500 if you registered a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16 percent or more
  • Mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and 25 days of community service if you had a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle with you
  • Installation of an ignition interlock system in your vehicle

With more than 46 years of combined criminal law experience, David Reid Clark and Steven Glasgow of Clark, Glasgow and McClintock, LLC possess the necessary skill and knowledge to help you fight back when charged with DUI/DWI.

Our attorneys take a personal and holistic approach to defending clients, not only working to minimize the criminal consequences, but also getting them the counseling or other help they need to prevent problems from reoccurring.

Depending upon the facts of your arrest, it may make sense to work toward having charges dismissed or getting charges reduced in order to minimize the impact on your life. Our ultimate concern is to keep you out of jail and able to carry on with your daily activities.

Facing A Battle On Two Fronts

When you are charged with DUI/DWI in Illinois, you will typically have to contend with two enemies: the secretary of state and the criminal justice system.

For instance, if you fail a Breathalyzer test, refuse to submit to a Breathalyzer test or are convicted of DUI/DWI, the Illinois Secretary of State will likely take away your license ― through either a suspension or revocation. Given that many people need their license to live and work, this loss can be devastating. If your license has been revoked, you will have to go through a lengthy administrative process just to try to get it reinstated and there are no guarantees.

Experienced Fighting Enhanced DUI Charges

The penalties for drunk driving increase dramatically for repeat DUI/DWI offenders. If you already have a DUI supervision or conviction on your record, it is even more important to enlist an experienced and assertive legal defense as soon as possible.

Under Illinois law, there are several reasons why a DUI charge may be enhanced to an Aggravated DUI, which is a felony offense. This includes being involved in an accident in which someone is injured, causing the death of another person, driving with a suspended license as a result of a DUI conviction, driving drunk without auto insurance or if this is your third or subsequent DUI conviction.

If you possess a commercial driver's license (CDL), Illinois law holds you to a higher standard than other motorists. The illegal BAC level for CDL holders, whether they are driving for work or personal reasons, is .04 percent as opposed to .08 percent for non-CDL holders.

Immediate Action Is Important

It is important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible following a DUI arrest. The process moves swiftly and immediate action is necessary. Most suspensions begin on the 46th day following our arrest. Call 309-760-4602 or use our online contact form to schedule a free consultation. We can answer your questions and recommend an effective course of action.

We represent clients throughout West-Central Illinois from our office in Monmouth.