Having To Register As A Sex Offender In Illinois

While accusations of sexual misconduct can result in lengthy prison sentences, it is important to remember that they can also lead to mandatory sex offender registration. In some cases, this registration requirement can last for life and follow you wherever your move ― resulting in long-term stigma and humiliation. In fact, not only are you listed as a sexual offender for all the public to see, but registration can also limit possible job opportunities as well as where you can live.

The best way to avoid sex offender registration is to fight the original sex crime charges. If you are not convicted, you will not have to register. At Clark, Glasgow and McClintock, LLC, we recognize the difficulties of those facing sexual offense allegations.

Oftentimes, the public will see you as a sex offender even if you are not yet proven guilty. Given that the deck is not stacked in your favor, you need an aggressive attorney on your side who is ready, willing and able to challenge the evidence and witnesses against you. With over 46 years of combined legal experience, David Reid Clark and Steven Glasgow are such attorneys.

Navigating Sex Offender Laws

In Illinois, there are several dozen criminal offenses that require sex offender registration ― and this list of offenses is constantly evolving and growing. The list is so broad that, in some cases, you may not even realize that you are committing an offense that will ultimately require you to register as a sex offender.

Once you are labeled as a sex offender, however, you will be subject to many reporting requirements and living restrictions, including, but not limited to:

  • You must register with local law enforcement and provide them with your identifying information, including a current photo, address, phone number, email address and employer
  • You must notify law enforcement within three days if you move
  • You must re-register with law enforcement every 90 days or 1 year, depending on your alleged sexual offense
  • You cannot live within 500 feet of a park, school or playground

The length of time you must register as a sex offender depends on the alleged sex crime. For instance, if you are classified as sexually dangerous, sexually violent or a sexual predator, you will be required to register for the rest of your life. In most other situations, you will only have to register for 10 years following your conviction, or, if you are sentenced to jail, following your release. However, if you are required to register as a sex offender, and fail to do so, or if you knowingly give false registration information, you will likely be charged with a felony.

There Is No Time To Waste, Contact Us Today

If you have been accused of sexual offense or a violation of your sex offender registration requirements, contact the experienced lawyers of Clark, Glasgow and McClintock, LLC today for a FREE initial consultation. Email us online or call us at 309-760-4602. While our office is located in Monmouth, we serve clients throughout West Illinois.